Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 08, 2024, 01:33:43 AM

Login with username, password and session length

65 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Bridgestone RE71R wear  (Read 10226 times)

Mkelder

• That cone is still in the box!
    • View Profile
Bridgestone RE71R wear
« on: June 20, 2016, 06:49:21 PM »
I was looking over my tires for wear and was a little alarmed. I knew to expect tread rub from seeing what Murray's 71r's were doing last year and indeed mine are doing it but what I wasn't expecting is the center rib between the rain slots is crowning on the wear side.

We are so little into the season that I'm worried I'm going to wreck the construction of the tire even before I wear them down to bald.

Mkelder

• View Profile
Re: Bridgestone RE71R wear
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2016, 08:47:58 PM »
Been looking around, what is happening to me isn't out of the ordinary for these tires. I'm no expert but it seems to me if bridgestone changed their rain groove a little and expanded that middle bar it would be better for the tires lifespan.

MurrayPeterson

• 2020 Member
  • I don't hit cones. I cone the hits.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2016, 09:50:19 PM »
Don't worry about the construction -- my experience is that they wear out before the center rib becomes an issue.  I do 50 runs, swap them, and do another 50 runs (maybe).  The last pair wore out in 80 runs, but the events at Helena had some *long* runs at high speeds, so I guess I can't complain.
2017 Miata (C Street)
Avatar photo courtesy of Ian Gulinao

NickST

• :|
  • Life is like a box of corners
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2016, 10:24:30 PM »
I think I made about 50 runs on one side on my new tires for this year, just flipped them this week.... come on 50 runs for the other side!

majormojo

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2016, 10:28:00 AM »