Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 26, 2024, 04:54:24 PM

Login with username, password and session length

12 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: How to get started in Solosport?  (Read 3966 times)

trophy

• Only Hit A Few Cones...
    • View Profile
How to get started in Solosport?
« on: August 30, 2016, 01:30:27 PM »
Just registered for the site, interested in the process to compete... Of course Joining the club would be the first step, what else is needed?  Any school/licencing requirements?  What do I need to do to start competing?

I have plenty of track experience (close to 30 years) and have been an instructor for PCA (Porsche) and BMW Clubs for 10 plus years. I have also instructed at a number of WCMA licencing days back in the old Race City times.

Reijo

• Global Moderator
  • I don't hit cones. I cone the hits.
  • I know Karate!
    • View Profile
Re: How to get started in Solosport?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2016, 02:26:44 PM »
Welcome!  Chances are I have met you at some point!   :)

Anyway, the nice thing about solo competitions is that you do not need much to start out!

1.  No licence per se ... although some times in the past (not currently), the national body (ASN/FiA Canada) or WCMA (Western Canada Motorsport Association) has had some type of licence but primarily for the purposes of a trophy fund.  So, all you need is a valid driver's licence.

2.  Joining the club and entering events are available at www.MSReg.com ... at http://www.motorsportreg.com/orgs/southern-alberta-solosport-club

We will be adding a few events very shortly in the upcoming day or two.  As a member you will have the first opportunity to enter.  The next Fort Macleod events are Sept. 17/18 and next Calgary event is Sept. 25 and will be available for registration in a day or two.  As a member you will get an email.